ICTP Executive Board to speak at Routes Talks Tourism

ICTP Exec Comm
ICTP Exec Comm
Written by editor

HALEIWA, Hawaii, USA; BRUSSELS, Belgium; VICTORIA, Seychelles – The Executive Board of the International Council of Tourism Partners (ICTP) will be among the outstanding speakers at this year’s Worl

HALEIWA, Hawaii, USA; BRUSSELS, Belgium; VICTORIA, Seychelles – The Executive Board of the International Council of Tourism Partners (ICTP) will be among the outstanding speakers at this year’s World Routes Development Forum in Abu Dhabi. World Routes this year will be presenting a series of speakers in the “Routes Talks Tourism” program. Registration to attend each of these sessions is free for Routes delegates, however, space is limited.

Representing ICTP will be Chairman Juergen Thomas Steinmetz; President Geoffrey Lipman; and Executive Board member Hon. Alain St. Ange, Minister of Tourism and Culture for Seychelles.

Professor Geoffrey Lipman will present “New World, New Connectivity” on Sunday, September 30 from 1400-1445 hours. The session will take the form of a panel discussion and will explore the surge in the BRICS markets and the global mega-hubs in the Gulf, as well as the opportunities this presents. Professor Lipman will also discuss how this development will affect tourism, and aviation marketing and promotion, and look at some novel financing opportunities. Participants can expect to engage in an interactive exchange, which picks up emerging trends and identifies some new funding options.

On Monday, October 1, from 0930 to 1020 hours, the ICTP panel discussion will be on the topick, “Vanilla Islands – Collaboration in Action.” This regional tourism integration session will address a collaborative approach to air access requirements. The opening remarks and moderator for the session will be Hon. Minister Alain St.Ange, Minister of Culture and Tourism for Seychelles, and the panel will include La Reunion President Robert Didier, Mauritius Minister for Tourism Michael Sik Yuen, Routes Vice President Nigel Mayes, and ICTP Chairman Juergen Thomas Steinmetz, as well as ICTP President Professor Geoffrey Lipman.

ICTP Chairman Steinmetz said: “We are excited to have such a prominent presence at the world’s most important aviation conference for airlines and airports. The International Council of Tourism Partners membership has been growing every day with over 300 destinations represented from around the globe. The Executive Committee is pleased to have this opportunity to participate in this global event.”

The 18th World Route Development Forum will be held from Sunday, September through Tuesday, October 2, 2012 at the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC) in the UAE. This is the first time the event has returned to a previous host city.


The International Council of Tourism Partners (ICTP) is a grassroots travel and tourism coalition of global destinations committed to quality service and green growth. ICTP engages communities and their stakeholders to share quality and green opportunities including tools and resources, access to funding, education, and marketing support. ICTP advocates sustainable aviation growth, streamlined travel formalities, and fair coherent taxation. ICTP supports the UN Millennium Development Goals, the UN World Tourism Organization’s Global Code of Ethics for Tourism, and a range of programs that underpin them.

ICTP has destination members in Anguilla; Aruba; Australia; Bangladesh; Belgium, Belize; Brazil; Canada; Caribbean; China; Croatia; Cyrpus; Egypt; Ecuador; Egypt; (The) Gambia; Georgia; Germany; Ghana; Greece; Grenada; India; Indonesia; Iran; Jordan; Kenya; Korea (South); La Reunion (French Indian Ocean); Malaysia; Malawi; Mauritius; Mexico; Morocco; Nicaragua; Nigeria; Northern Mariana Islands (USA Pacific Island Territory); Romania; Sultanate of Oman; Pakistan; Palestine; Philippines; Portugal; Rwanda; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; South Africa; Sri Lanka; St. Eustatius (Dutch Caribbean); St. Kitts; St. Lucia; Sudan; Tajikistan; Tanzania; Trinidad & Tobago; Uganda; USA; Yemen; Zambia; and Zimbabwe.

For more information, go to: .

About the author


Editor in chief for eTurboNew is Linda Hohnholz. She is based in the eTN HQ in Honolulu, Hawaii.