World Routes awards go to Brussels, Nairobi, Dallas, Singapore, Yekaterinburg, Darwin, Seychelles

Written by editor

Brussels Airport triumphed as overall winner of the World Routes Awards 2012, which were formally announced last night at the Abu Dhabi Networking Evening that took place at the Yas Marina Circuit, ho

Brussels Airport triumphed as overall winner of the World Routes Awards 2012, which were formally announced last night at the Abu Dhabi Networking Evening that took place at the Yas Marina Circuit, home of the F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix racing circuit.

The awards, which are voted exclusively by airlines, included five regional categories: Europe, the Americas, Asia, Africa, and CIS. This year, for the first time, the awards included a special award for Airports Under Four Million Passengers and presentations of a Tourism Award for best destination marketing campaign by a tourism authority and the ORBIS Award for Social Responsibility also took place.

Brussels were also named as the winner from the European region, with Dallas Fort/Worth International Airport honored from the Americas region. From the Africa region Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Nairobi were ranked top with Ekaterinburg Koltsovo International Airport winning the CIS category while the Asia Region saw top honors going to Singapore Changi.

“This is a wonderful recognition of the achievement of our aviation marketing team over the past year. To be recognized for our hard efforts by this industry’s peers is even more rewarding,” said Arnaud Feist, Chief Executive Officer, Brussels Airport.

Having won the European heat of the Airport Marketing Awards and now the Europe and overall award, Leon Verhallen, Head of Aviation Marketing, Brussels Airport was in positive spirits after the awards ceremony. “We have reached the top following our win tonight,” he said, “I don’t think we can go any higher then achieving this reward.”

Darwin International Airport was awarded as the winner of the newest award category for Airports Under Four Million Passengers and Seychelles Tourism Board were awarded best destination marketing campaign by a Tourism Authority.

The World Routes Awards have grown and developed over the last 15 years and are unique within the industry, because they are voted for exclusively by the airline network planning community. The prestige of these industry awards, which recognizes excellence in air service development by airports, is largely due to this method of voting.

David Stroud, Executive Vice President of Routes, said: “We would like to congratulate this year’s winners and highly commended airports; year on year we are impressed by the caliber of the submissions that are supplied to us, proving the importance of airline-airport relationship. We would also like to thank our judges, who are all senior members of the airline network planning community, and, of course, to our sponsor OAG for their continued support.”

In addition to the shortlisted finalists nominated by the airlines, the regional winners from each of the regional Routes events from 2012 automatically gained a place in the final judging.

A respected panel of industry executives then reviewed the lists and submissions from the nominated airports in order to determine the winners. The panel consisted of the following experts:

– Mr. John Kirby, Senior Director, International for Southwest Airlines
– Mr. Rick Wagstaffe, Vice President Procurement & Logistics for Emirates
– Mr. Alan McIntyre, Head of Network and Schedule Development for easyJet
– Mr. Imed Ben Abdallah, Head of Network Planning for Etihad Airways
– Ms. Sabine Reim, Network Development Manager for British Airways
– Mr. Germal Singh Khera, Senior Vice President International Affairs for Malaysia Airlines
– Mr. Mauricio Emboaba Moreira, Senior Strategic Advisor for Gol Transportes Aereos
– Mr. John Grant, Executive Vice President of OAG

“This is the first year I have participated in the judging process for the World Routes Awards. I was impressed by the quality of the submissions and enjoyed the seeing the diversity of the approach from airports across the world,” said Rick Wagstaffe, Vice President Procurement & Logistics, Emirates Airline.

Additionally Air France-KLM was named as the winner of the ORBIS Award for Social Responsibility.

The full list of companies shortlisted under each award category were as follows:

Africa (All Airports)

– Jomo Kenyatta International Airport – Winner
– Accra International Airport, Ghana – Highly Commended
– Entebbe International Airport
– Julius Nyerere International Airport
– Mombassa International Airport, Kenya

Americas (Over 4 Million Passengers)

– Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport – Winner
– Seattle-Tacoma International Airport – Highly Commended
– Chicago O’Hare International Airport
– Houston Airports
– Portland International Airport, Oregon
– Southwest Florida International Airport

Asia (Over 4 Million Passengers)

– Singapore Changi Airport Group – Winner
– Incheon International Airport – Highly Commended
– Melbourne Airport – Highly Commended
– Sydney Airport – Highly Commended
– Bangalore International Airport
– Beijing Capital International Airport Co. Ltd.
– Delhi International Airport Pvt Ltd (DEL)
– Mumbai International Airport Pvt. Ltd.

CIS (All Airports)

– Ekaterinburg Koltsovo Airport – Winner
– Sheremetyevo International Airport, Moscow – Highly Commended
– Novosibirsk International Airport Tolmachevo
– Saint Petersburg International Pulkovo Airport

Europe (Over 4 Million Passengers)

– Brussels Airport – Winner
– Budapest Airport – Highly Commended
– Hamburg Airport – Highly Commended
– Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
– Athens International Airport
– Birmingham Airport Ltd
– Munich Airport
– Rome Fiumicino Airport

Airports under 4 Million Passengers (excluding Africa & CIS)

– Darwin International Airport – Winner
– Queen Beatrix International Airport, Aruba – Highly Commended
– Friedrichshafen Airport – Highly Commended
– London City Airport
– Princess Juliana International Airport, St. Maarten

Best Destination Marketing Campaign by a Tourism Authority

– Seychelles Tourism Board – Winner
– Aruba Tourism Authority
– Czech Tourism
– Greek National Tourism Organisation
– Department of Tourism, Philippines
– Orbis Social Responsibility Award
– Air France-KLM

Overall Winner

– Brussels Airport

About the author


Editor in chief for eTurboNew is Linda Hohnholz. She is based in the eTN HQ in Honolulu, Hawaii.